Metro Coaches Hall of Fame inducts two and honors All City Metro football teams

Steve Peden presented the Hall of Fame induction trophy by Roosevelt Sanders at the Coaches Hall of Fame dinner held at the Maxwell House Hotel 12.7.18


Metro City Coaches Hall of Fame and Metro All-city Awards

The 34th Annual Metro Nashville Football Coaches Association presented the 2018 the Inductees into the Metro Football Coach’s Hall of Fame, the All-City team and honorable mention team members and inducted two new members into the Metro Nashville Football Coaches Hall of Fame Thursday, December 6, 2018.

Steve Peden, assistant coach (40 years)  and Buddy Brown (36 years), Metro coach were presented a trophy to a full house of coaches and players who gathered at the Maxwell House Millennial  Hotel to dine on a fine meal and socialize in setting other than a football field.

At the annual 35th Coaches Hall of Fame 12.7.18 trophy presented to 2018 Inductee, Buddy Brown, by Roosevelt Sanders, Athletic Director for Metro Schools at the Maxwell House Hotel. (Photo by Terrianna Carter)

Pearl Cohn’s Ninth Grade Football Team was honored as the 9th Grade City Champion with the City Gold Ball Trophy, their third time in a row, It has an engraved plaque of each year’s winner on it and is on display at the winning school for a year until presented at the next season’s banquet.

Other special awards include a presentation of the Coach of the Year Award to Eddie Woods, Head Coach of Cane Ridge High School. This was his third time to win the award.

Below are the special awards given to the honorees Thursday night. Awards were given to each player by the Athletic Directo of MNPS, Roosevelt Sanders. The banquet was sponsored by Coca Cola.

Special Awards 3A – 4A


BoBo Hodges – Maplewood

Special Team MVP

Rondarius Gregory – East

Offensive MVP

Xavier Shephard – Pearl

Defensive MVP

Elijah Simmons – Pearl


 Jaalon Gumpton – Stratford

Coach of the Year

Arcentae Broome – Maplewood

Special Awards 5A – 6A


Devon Starling – Cane Ridge

Special Team MVP

Erick Ramirez – Cane Ridge

Offensive MVP

Hale Page – Hillwood

Defensive MVP

Lamar Childress – McGavock


Steven Losoya – Overton

Coach of the Year

Eddie Woods – Cane Ridge


High Schools

All City Members

Honorable Mention


Joe Honeysucker – DL/ Sr.

Donald Fitzgerald – OL / Sr.

Darius Smith – QB/ Sr.

Brian Covington – RB/ Jr.

Jalen Macon – QB / Soph


Samari Burns – WR/DB; Sr.

David Jefferson – RB; Sr.

Aran Mohamad-Ali – OL; Sr.

Micah Kimble – DB; Sr.

Chris Washington – OL; Jr.

Whites Creek

Cameron Davis  – QB; Fr.

Zach Drake – WR; Jr

Deshae Griffin – WR; Jr.


Makell Smith – ATH/Sr.

Travares Springer – DB/Sr.

Clint Dowty- DL/ Sr.

Harlen Zirker- DL/ Sr.

Kendrell Scurry- WR/ Sr

Gerrick Evans –  DB/ Sr

Chris Jordan – OL / Sr.

Hunters Lane

Markelle Beasley OL/LB; Jr

Sid Souksangouane K; Sr.

JaDonte Hodges – WR/DB Jr.


Antione Williams – WR/ Sr.

Monty Thomas – DL/ Sr.

Mark Thomas – DL/ Sr.


Ricardo Ruiz – OL / Sr.

Damien Patterson – RB/ Sr.

Rishad Petrus- WR/ Sr.

Olenx Moise – DB/ Sr.


Miller Baker – TE/ Sr.

Kyle Carder – WR / Sr.

Eric Kinnard – WR / Sr.


Jashon Watkins – DB/ Sr.

Jaylun Davis – DL/ Sr.

Stanley Cross – DB/ Sr.

Arondai Thompson – QB/ Jr.

Anthony Collier – DL/ Sr.

Pearl Cohn

Jayden Harrison – WR / Sr.

Mayson Harris – OL/ Sr.

Deshaun Wade – DL/ Jr.

William Griffin –  OL / Soph

Kwame Hayes – DB/ Sr.

Darryl Rogan – DL/ Sr.

Kyndrich Breedlove – RB/ Soph.


James Moore- RB / Jr.

Quasean Robinson – OL/ Sr.

Deairrus Waller – OL Sr.

Tomory Stephens – LB / Sr.

Cane Ridge

Jaquez Norman – RB/  Sr.

Michael Reese – OL/ Jr.

Quenton Barnes- WR/ Soph.

Kenneth Allen – OL/ Jr.

Korey Andrews – QB/ Sr.

Theo Chisom – LB/ Sr.

Odannie Hall – DB/ Sr.


Harley Tyler-Neal – LB/ Sr.

Ronnie Hill – QB/ Sr.

Jailen Wawa – LB/ Sr.

Shemar Kirk – RB / Sr.