Congrats to Coach Anderson who was named Tennis Coach of the Year, 2021

Pictured are the 2021 regular season undefeated Hillsboro Boy’s Tennis Team with their coach, Brittany Anderson who was named District 12 AAA Boys coach of the year.

Boys Tennis

Yesterday, the Boys and Girls Tennis Teams headed to Hillwood High School to defend their stellar season 2021 spring season after having to cancel last year’s season due to the pandemic.

Hillwood is the hosting site for this year’s TSSAA 12AAA  Tennis District playoff tournament. The boy’s team, undefeated in the regular season were the top seed. Look for them to push to be District Tournament Champions, also.

Connor Cohn, Omar Garcia, and Libby Taylor were named to the 12 AAA All-District team.

Connor Cohn, as 1 seed in singles earned a bye for round one.

Omar Garcia, the 2 seed, picked another win against Glencliff, winning 8-1. Both Hillsboro single boys competitors will advance and play on May 6 at Hillwood

The remaining undefeated Wallace Kinloch and Holden Korbey, earned 1 seed in doubles while 6 seed Eli Fails and William Owens served up another Burro win, 8-5,  in the first round. Fails and Owens will play McGavock in round two. Korbey and Kinloch will be facing Cane Ridge.

Girls Tennis

While the Hillsboro Girls Tennis team is not undefeated, it has played very strong tennis throughout the season.

Senior Em Muensida, seeded 13th in singles play, fought hard against McGavock and just missed the win, with a final score McGavock 9-Hillsbor 7.

Senior Morgan Grace Magruder beat Glencliff 8-5 advancing to play Overton but lost (8-5) in a strong showing that just barely missed the mark.  Hillsboro’s top double’s team, Libby Taylor and Marisol Willocks as the 2 seed beat Glencliff 8-0.

Willocks and Taylor will advance to the next round.

Hillsboro plays May 6, 2021, at Hillwood High School to wrap up the District Tournament. The first and second place teams, individuals, and doubles advance to the Region 6 tournament where they will face the District 11AAA top winners.